Pumpkin Chocolate-Chip Blondies

I started off my baking year with these delicious pumpkin blondies. I used to make regular blondies with some regularity, and decided to spice them up a little with some frozen pumpkin I had leftover from the holidays. I tweaked the original a little, including  replacing 1/2 the flour with whole-wheat,  using Earth Balance instead of butter,  brown sugar instead of regular sugar, and adding in walnuts. The recipe also called for creaming the butter and sugar, but when I used to make blondies I always melted the two together on the stove in a large saucepan and then just added into that pot to make less mess (I am so lazy!). They came out delicious, like soft pumpkin chocolate chip cookies in a bar! They were perfectly cooked after only 25 minutes. I couldn’t stop picking at them all night!

(ready for baking)

(all done!)

Pumpkin Chocolate-Chip Blondies

adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin-pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with non-stick spray. In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, pie spice, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  2. Heat the margarine and brown sugar over medium heat on the stove, stir until melted together. Cool slightly (so as not to cook the egg!), stir in egg and vanilla until combined. Stir in pumpkin puree, mix well. Add in dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in 1/2 the chocolate chips and walnuts.
  3. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Sprinkle the top with the other 1/2 of the chocolate chips. Bake until edges begin to pull away from sides of pan and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes (Note: mine only took 25 minutes!). Try to let cool completely in pan before eating!
4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate-Chip Blondies

  1. Maria says:

    I love chocolate and pumpkin together, so these blondies are totally my kind of thing 😉

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Yay, a Seattle blogger!!! I only know of one other, so it’s great to meet you. Plus, being Korean-American is a huge part of my life, so that’s a great thing as well 🙂 I’m in a bit of a blog hiatus right now though, but hopefully will get back sometime!

  2. eatingRD says:

    I’ve made this recipe too for the holidays and everyone loves them!!! Yours look superb! Yum, makes me want to make a batch 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to visit my new site, I appreciate your kind words.

Leave a Reply

