Vegan Chocolate Muffins

Since I spent most of yesterday celebrating the Korean New Year, and not so much celebrating Valentines Day, I decided I wanted to make something chocolate to make up for my lack of romance…:)

I’ve made this classic vegan chocolate cake recipe many times, it always turns out moist and delicious. I kept them simple this time and made tiny mini muffins, so that if I ate a few I wouldn’t feel too guilty!  I used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder, which could be why they turned out almost black! They also work great with any kind of mix-ins, or of course frosting, but I was too lazy.

Vegan Chocolate Muffins

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour + 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup  sugar
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 and spray mini-muffin pan with non-stick spray. Sift together all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine milk and vinegar and let it curdle for a few minutes, then add in the rest of the wet ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix until blended. Pour batter into a mini-muffin pan and bake for about 10 minutes (make sure to watch, since they are so small they cook fast!) Makes about 24 mini-muffins. I entered the stats into a calorie analyzer and they are about 70 calories per muffin!

Leave a Reply

